Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Zoos are one of the most popular places that people choose to visit in holiday. While some people say that zoos are brutal, others believe that zoos are crucial for preventing endangered animals from extinction. This essay will discuss both topics from different perspectives. In my opinion, I’m on the fence between these two arguments.

One of the reasons that zoos can preserve rare animals is, most of the zoos have a decently high security system, high enough to protect endangered animals from not only predators but also humans from harming them. Look at Chiang Mai zoo for instance, Chiang Mai zoo is one of the most famous zoos in Thailand. It’s security system is excellent. And it did a fantastic job in protecting the endangered animals from extinction.

However, some low quality zoos treat animals terribly. These zoos are not only harming animals physically but also mentally. Korat zoos are one of the zoos that torture animals physically. Sometimes, they hurt their animals with their sickles or chain them all day if they aren’t following their instructions. Some zoos torture creatures mentally. Eventhough there is a regulation book on how to treat animals correctly ,such as the approximate cages size for each species and the correct amount of food for them, these zoos don’t follows those regulations resulting in mental illness in some animals.

With all that being said, most of the zoos have decently good security systems, which protects endangered animals from any danger. On the other hand, some zoos can be cruel by torturing creatures both physically and mentally. In the end, I’d say that it depends on the zoo’s quality.