Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

One group of people argue that zoos could danger the animals in it, however, others think zoos are a better place to save the endangered animals. This essay will discuss both arguments and give my personal opinion about why the drawbacks outweight the advantages.

As we can tell, there are many cases of deforestations and illegal logging that directly endanger the animal’s habitat and food sources. This problem is one of the reason why some animals are endangered. Zoos offer a place that similar to animal’s natural habitat and prevent them suffering from hunger and death. Moreover, keeping endangered animals in a zoo would be easier for the government to protect them from severe diseases. Every zoo must have their own veterinarian who has specific skills to do early detections and give fast intervention in emergency cases that could prevent mortality and morbidity of the animals.

However, the major problem of the zoos is that they don’t always follow the rules and the standard on keeping animals. This could cause several problems. Firstly, they put the animals in the cages that most likely smaller than their natural habitats, furthermore, the animals have to live alone in that narrow cage. These situations can cause stress for the animals because in their original habitat they usually live together with their family and have a larger space for their movement. In addition, the zookeepers sometimes give them negative traits, for instance, forcing the animals to do attractions in front of many people and training them in a very long that end up exhausting them. Not only that, the animals’ needs for medication, rest, nutrition, and body as well as cages care are sometimes neglected by the zoo organizer due to lack of money and human resources

Although zoos can assure the animals a safer place to live from the hunter, illegal logging, and deforestation, I argue that animals should be kept in their natural places because that is their rights. We have the obligations to make sure their habitats are free from cruel actions that can threaten the animals’ lives using the particular law. In this point, we still can protect them from diseases, assuring their foods resources and place to live withouth taking advantages of them and make them stressed.