Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is argued that zoos pose a threat to animal species. However, some people think that zoos can help endangered animals. I disagree with the latter viewpoint for ethical reasons.

On the one hand, zoos can help with the distinction of rare animals, caused by low breeding numbers. This is an actual concern, that has been raising public’s awareness for many years now. While setting professionally-run breeding programmes, rare species can be saved by the help of zoos. Proponents of this side of the argument suggest that this benefit to the animals lives outweigh all the suffering zoos give to them. Nevertheless, I think that zoos present a concerning threat to animals.

On the other hand, zoos can be an inadequate environment for animal species. Animals are meant to live in the wild, and zoos are artificial environments that cannot be compared to the actual natural habitat animals used to live in. By putting wild animals in the cages, it takes away the freedom, that they should have. Furthermore, zoos constrain animals’ natural behavior. For example, lions is species which are known for existing in social groups. Zoos takes away their natural state of living by putting them in the separate cages. Zoos are becoming more popular every year, and it puts animals under risk more than ever before.

In conclusion, although some people claim that zoos can be helpful, in a way that it prevents the distinction of certain animal species, I believe that this kind of environment is morally wrong, and presents a threat to animals.