Many people throw litter on to the streets or in green spaces. Why is this a problem? What solutions can you suggest?

Poor waste disposal is increasingly becoming common in urban settings and parks. I believe this poses serious problems to the environment such as flooding and degradation of the soil. Therefore, a range of effective measure such as taking legal actions and proper education should be implemented to address this issue.

One of the primary problems of poor disposal of waste is it leads to blockage of drainage systems in towns which results to flooding during rainy season. During rains running water is blocked by those litters hence disrupting transportation and may lead to deaths. In addition, land pollution particularly in green spaces leads to soil degradation hence resulting to loss of biodiversity. For example, plastic litters are non-biodegradable and have adverse effect on the ecosystem.

In terms of solution, one effective strategy is setting laws and regulation that will govern people on how to dispose waste. When people learn about this strict penalties they will change on how to handle waste especially in urban settings. Furthermore, public education especially in school setting, media mass and community outreach on importance of taking care of the environment will also play a crucial role in addressing this issue. For instance, when an individual know the risks of disposing waste in the environment they will be able to change their behaviour.

In conclusion, floods and land degradation are the significant problems caused by poor littering in the environment. However, through legal actions and education on environmental conservation, we can be able to tackle the problems effectively.