Many people today are choosing to travel to other countries. Why is that happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

More and more people around the globe decide to travel to different destinations abroad. This essay will outline why people desire to travel abroad and assess if this trend is good or bad. I believe that the surge in long-haul tourism is good, because tourism is an important source of income in poorer countries.

Traveling to countries abroad offers a unique experience and remains to be the best way to explore and discover a certain country. Visiting a foreign country is an incomparable way to make oneself familiar with the customs, culture and food of a nation. Viewing pictures or watching a documentation about the country is not comparable with the experience in the country itself. For instance, I traveled to Stockholm last summer and informed myself quite well about the country upfront. Despite my good preparation and research on the country, I was astonished about certain customs of Swedish people, that I did not read about before.

Tourism in far distance countries does not only offer a great learning opportunity for people but also generates important income for families in poorer countries. In nations with high rates of unemployment and missing career prospects, tourism is often the single and largest source of income. People that travel to those poorer countries and participate in different tourist offerings by local people, directly support the citizens of the certain country. For example, tourists that explore Asian countries like Vietnam, often enjoy food and drinks in restaurants that are run by locals. By doing so they automatically support the locals and the economy of the country.

In conclusion, visiting a foreign country remains to be the way that offers the greatest insights and learnings on the culture, customs or food of the country. Nations with economics that are weaker than the European or American ones, benefit a lot through tourism as the money spent by the tourists helps local families to survive and care for theirselves.