Many people today do not know their neighbors. Why? What can be done?

Nowadays, many individuals are not familiar with their neighbours. This trend mainly due to busy lifestyles of people and frequent moving to new apartments. However, to tackle this issue, residents should be introduced to each other in common online groups or be encouraged to socialize through local festivals.

Many people are isolated from interactions with people , living next to them, because of they experience hectic workdays everyday or they frequently change their accommodation. Despite their age, almost everyone leaves their house early in the morning and comes back late in the evening , experiencing a long and exhausting day. So, individuals prefer solitude in pursuit of peace, rather than getting to know a new person, as it requires a lot of energy and dedication. Additionally, now, it is more frequent to rent a house, than to buy it, as one can move immediately if there is an instant demand, like a new job opportunity, or having a baby in small families. Obviously, if person needs to constantly change their locations, they neither be physically able to adapt to a new environment, nor make friends from a certain neighbourhood.

Nevertheless, there are some effective ways to avoid such problems. Fistly, by uniting them in groups on messaging apps, like Telgram, where they can ask questions about anything related to the neighbourhood or be informed about recent announcements, chances that people start to get acquainted with and be useful for each other may increase. For instance, for new residents it will be useful to learn new location, to find contacts of services in case of emergency, such as plumbers or electricians. Secondly, organizing wide range of festivals or celebrations on special days, can contribute to bring people together and cultivating strong relationships between citizens.

In conclusion, the current trend, where everyone is tied up with busy and monotonous schedules, and rarely stays in the same apartment for a long time, people tend to have no time and intention for knowing their neighbours. In my opinion, this situation could be improved significantly by giving them opportunity to know each other on the internet or holiday events.