Many people today prefer to shop online rather than visit physical stores. Why is this the case? What problems can this cause for traditional shops and local communities?

Nowadays, majority of people favor making purchases via online platforms over visiting local communities. This path provides them a wide range of choices and assists people to manage their time, while some small shops closing down due to lack of customers and financial burden.

The rise of e-commerce has significantly reduced the need for physical stores. This is because online shopping helps people to manage their time. There are a bunch of internet platforms where anyone can buy goods that they need by clicking to the screen instead of going to physical shopping. Furthermore, there is an access to buy items and do not care from which point of the earth it will come. Hence, widespread internet shops, namely Ozon, Amazon and Wildberries, now offer commodities, with appropriate value, from different countries that is not available in our local communities. Typically, people prefer cheaper prices and convenience online, which reduces foot traffic to local shops. For example, many readers now buy e-books or order from Amazon.

However, virtual shopping can damage community shops by luring customers, which are vital for their existence, to their side. In addition, local stores need to spend a lot of money on advertising, in order to subsist, that can impose economic pressure. As a result, neighborhood stores, that are falling short for digital shopping, are closing down. For instance, the small book stores that are not existing now.

In conclusion, electronic retailing emancipates humankind from face-to-face shopping and provides them more leisure time. However, brick-and-mortar stores suffer from influence of it both financially and with the threat of closure.