Many people use written language in a less formal and more relaxed way. Why? Does this development have advantages and disadvantages?

Unquestionably, in contemporary society, people overwhelmingly opt for informal language, particularly the younger generation, finding it effortless to use. Despite its evident benefits, this informal communication style comes with a plethora of drawbacks.

On the one hand, the emerging generations, encompassing Gen Z, Gen Alpha and Millenials, opt for unofficial language. On top of that, non-formal speech is much more pleasant and approachable than serious, correct, or official speech. For instance, phrases like “come on”, “stay in touch”, and “never mind” exemplify this chatty speech. Moreover, even individuals from previous generations can acquire and apply this type of language. As a result, because of this speech’s affability and ease, individuals can communicate much more effortlessly.

On the other hand, a contrary viewpoint masters that conversational speech has no real positive impact. Accordingly, it further established that casual language negatively affects individuals’ speaking and writing skills. For instance, drawbacks of informal communication involve the risk of misunderstanding, lack of documentation and potential exclusion of individuals from conversations. Moreover, certain age gaps of perspectives don’t get these types of phrases. Consequently, informal language may lead to specific severe problems in the life of the individual.

In conclusion, although there is a high-demand preference for unofficial speech, it is not really advisable to maintain its usage due to the numerous drawbacks that have no good impact on the verbal and writing abilities of the individual.