Many people who care for the elderly do not have enough time to look after them. What are the problems related to this? What are some possible solutions?

Many today would argue that people having elderly find it difficult to dedicate sufficient time to meet their needs. This problem has led to neglect basic needs of elderly, emotional loneliness or isolation and risk of accidents. However, by making flexible working hours for family members of elderly, establishing fund of elderly care services and community support can tackle this problem.

One major issue caused by not taking not care of their core needs that leads to poor physical health. The aged may not receive proper food or take a medicine in a timely manner. In addition, their hygiene is also one of the most point. An illustrative example is- if old people have diabetics, they should take medicine and meal in an appropriate time. Another significant consequence can lead to feel unimportant, as lack of people to speak may cause depression. Finally, elderly being or living alone may suffer falls without help nearby.

Remedies for the problems detailed above involve individual and community initiatives. Local governments should establish public care centers where professional caregivers are recruited. Such people can take care of elderly while family members at work or even abroad. In addition, encouraging policies to allow family members of elderly to take time off in order to care for their parents, as they can be with their parents and even visit some places together so they do not feel loneliness.

In conclusion, the problems concerned with caring old parents can lead to not only medical attention but also to psychological problems. So, by supporting family members of ageing population, it will be possible to support community and help elderly be mentally and physically healthy.