Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example.

In this modern era, majority of people are more competitive towards their career. People leave a small amount of time for their leisure activites, where they prioritize working long hours more. While working long hours can help in a person’s career growth and luxury lifestyle, it also comes with many challenges, which will be explored in this essay.

Work-life balance is crucial for a person’s life. Although working overtime has positive impacts, such as high remuneration and work related skill developments. In contrast, working overtime can lead to stress and health issues. It is believed that working long hours in IT industry for instance, can cause vision problems, physical pains as the workers spend more time working in front of computers and in the same place without much physical movements.

Performing extra hours in your job can provide positive perspective for the employers on the employee which can lead to promotion and salary increase, yet it can also cause negative impact in an individual’s personal relationship. Therefore, divorces and breakups were increased in recent times because of partners not having work-life balance. Also lack of leisure time can affect one’s mental well being and cause their life less interesting.

In conclusion, working for long hours has some benefits, however not allocating cosiderable time for leisure activities in ones life will have several drawbacks over time. Balancing a person’s work and personal life in vital to lead healthy and peaceful lifestyle, which can positively impact mental and physical health. It is recommented to work effectively and efficiently with in the actual work hours and spending right amount of time for leisure activities will enhance the life in positive way.