Many places are famous and attract a lot of tourists, but tourism changes these places. Is tourism good for a town?

There has been an ongoing debate about the primary purpose of developing local destinations to attract tourists. While some people strongly believe that such tourist attractions boost national revenue, others argue that altering places may bring detrimental effects on town. From my perspective, I lean toward those who support constructing iconic landmarks to enhance tourism appeal.

On the one hand, tourist attractions are one of the most crucial elements which contributes to the local profits and national recognition. First and foremost, having more picturesque destinations provides travelers with a plethora of captivating photos in order to gain validation from social media users. With the rapid growth of social media platforms such as TikTok and Facebook, people nowadays have a tendency to share their travel experiences online, which is regarded as an effective way of marketing the town. Furthermore, gaining profits from renowned destinations also plays a vital role in environmental conservation. Specifically, the profits allow local authorities to preserve the natural beauty of historical sites without ruining it. In addition to the economic value and visual beauty, those places offer tourists a sense of relaxation during their journeys. Some would heal their mental issues such as tension and anxiety after struggling with deadlines.

On the other hand, renowned places also make both citizens and local authorities struggle to cope with various socio-economic challenges. Firstly, building tourism infrastructure requires local authorities to demolish citizens’ property such as houses and workplaces. Such action causes local people to face a dilemma whether to relocate and abandon their long-standing site. Equally important, renovating places needs a professional in order not to disturb the daily lives and tranquility of the neighborhood. Noise from construction activities can hinder those who are reviewing for the tests to lose concentration. Consequently, if not managed carefully, the transformation may prioritize commercial benefits over the peace and well-being for its residents.

To recapitulate, while developing local destinations may enhance the nation’s economy and alleviate travelers’ anxiety, the downsides regarding property loss and noise pollution must not be overlooked. In my opinion, plans for both should be implemented fairly to ensure sustainable growth.