Many small local shops are closing due to competition from large supermarkets and shopping centres. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Thrive of large supermarkets and shopping centres contributes to the closure of many small local shops. This trend is mainly due to the expansion of the range of goods in the supermarkets. While the development of supermarkets provides many benefits, I believe that the closure of small shops is largely a negative trend.

Primarily, the closure of local shops is triggered by the convenience that supermarkets provide. There is one key reason responsible for this trend – diversity of goods. Supermarkets have a variety of products, such as food, clothes and appliances. Therefore, it is more convenient to spend one hour in one place rather than three hours in different shops. For example, if there is a need to buy some food and a school shirt at the same time, many people prefer to go to a shopping mall because it saves time.

Although this trend brings some positive outcomes, I believe that the negative consequences outweigh the benefits. Perhaps the most concerning implication is job loss. Small convinience stores are often managed by one person, and this is the main source of income for them. Therefore, their family may suffer due to this issue too. For example, convinience store ‘Vegetables and fruits’ in my hometown was closed because a large shopping mall was opened not far from it. As a result, this family is not satisfied with their life now due to poverty.

In conclusion, expanding of large supermarkets is the vital problem for convenience stores, especially for their incomes. In my opinion, this tendency is a negative trend, because it can contributes financial problems for owners and their familes.