Many social media accounts are fake. What problems can this cause? What solutions can you suggest?

Social media is a place for people to connect with each other, however some members use it in their benefit, such as creating fake accounts. In this case, scammers have a privilege of keeping their real identity confidential, so they can manipulate vulnerable users online. One solution to this problem is to make every user to go through a verification process before using the social media.

Nowadays, people face different problems with social media, such as spam messages, identification theft, and scamming as well. For example, a very popular method among some cyber-criminals is when they use an account with a woman’s identity, uploading explicit photos. This attracts male audience, and the scammers can easily manipulate the victim. This would classify as an identity theft and fraud in a real world, but social media is a different story.

On the other hand, there are some solutions to this problem. One of them is identity verification, such as entering your ID or biometry scan with the camera. For instance, in some countries the government services are available in an online format. However, for any person to access this platform they need to create an account. So, if anyone wants to take advantage of online services, they will have to create an account verifying their identity through either a passport number, or even biometry scans of their face. With the help of such method, social media will become a safer place for users, because now everyone will have to verify themselves. Consequently, they will have to keep their use of social media legal, as they know their actions will lead straight to them.

Social media is a great tool for humanity, especially for connection. Unfortunately, confidentiality is abused by some criminals, leading to unaware users becoming victims of their actions. But still, this issue can be fought with, using some methods of identity verification, to help keep social medias clear from scammers and fake accounts.