Many social media accounts are fake. What problems does this cause?what solutions can you suggest?

Majority of the accounts seen on social media are invalid or fake, hence arises in problems such as ability to easily convey misinformation or false gossip that can be harmful to individuals. As a solution we could use the help of Artificial Intelligence to detect these false accounts and deactivate them.

Fake social media accounts bring up the problem of misusing other people’s identities and creating fake accounts to fulfill their beneficial needs. It not only tarnishes their name but also negatively affects their family and work background as well. For example, people using A.I tools to mimic the same voice and physical features of celebrities or famous personalities to gain followers, views and more attention for their fake pages by making videos and uploading them on Tik Tok and Instagram. Which increases revenue for them by dispersing false gossip that attracts vast numbers of viewers.

Moreover, as a solution for this problem social apps requiring I.D or passport number of the specific country the user is residing in, could minimize the number of fake users as it makes it harder to obtain another individual’s personal information. Additionally, they could adopt another strategy by using A.I tools to detect invalid users by methods such as two factor authentication or by requiring finger prints.

To conclude, with the advancement of technology adopting strategies such as using A.I tools and fingerprint methods to minimize the number of fake accounts being made to harass individuals and share inappropriate content that is harmful could be reduced.