Many social media accounts are fake. What problems does this cause?what solutions can you suggest?

A large number of social networking accounts have been discovered to be illegitimate, which has raised concerns among many, to suggest solutions such as requiring a personal Identification Card to create an account, in order to prevent cyber crimes.

First and foremost, many scammers tend to use fake credentials to create a social media account, to be able to easily scam people over the internet. While making sure they are untraceable, as they can easily delete their account as if it were never created. For instance, there has been a noticeable increase in the number of cyber crimes in recent years in Egypt, such as fraud, as many Egyptians have reported fraudulent activities on their accounts, and criminals have access to their bank accounts. Consequently, many people have lost a lot of their money and were unable to retrieve it, as they were either blocked by the scammer or the latter has deleted the fake account completely.

Therefore, it has become necessary to prevent cyber crimes, including fraud that takes place via illegitimate social media accounts. One of the most possible ways is for the social networking platforms to require an ID or a passport in order to create an account. Having done that, it would be easier to trace criminals and most likely decrease the number of cyber crimes. For example, TikTok requires users to verify their personal details, such as their phone number and email address, in addition to their ID and bank details, in order for users to withdraw cash from their accounts.

In conclusion, having unverified social media accounts has been a major problem for many vulnerable users, as they have been victims of internet crimes. However, this can be solved by requiring personal ID verification from any new user entering the platform.