Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

High proportion of undergraduate students are tended to study remote from their hometowns. In my opinion, I think that studying abroad can bring about more advantages for students compared to problems it might bring.

Despite the issues below, I believe the benefits gained by students studying abroad are extremely useful for their future. Firstly, they have the opportunity to study in the best universities in the world, which leads them to have higher ranking positions in the future. Secondly, they communicate with people from different nations and gain friends, learn about their culture and cuisine. Last but not least, undergraduates become more independent. To put it another way, this is a crucial lesson for them as they start doing everything alone due to the fact that they have no one to help them. Furthermore, students manage their finances by themselves, which is an essential skill later in their lives. For example, research in European countries depicts that students studying remote from their locality are more independent than those who study in their hometowns.

Admittedly, there are some basic disadvantages of learning abroad. Firstly, students will be far away from their close people. Secondly, undergraduates can gain bad habits. In other words, students will have freedom as there is none to ward them. As a result, they can be surrounded by people who are drug addicts or smokers, who can later become the reason for someone’s spoilt life. Undergraduates, for instance, who were weak of mind and studied far from their country are more likely to become drug-addicted.

In conclusion, the critical lessons that students can learn when they study abroad will stand them in good stead when they are adults and clearly outweigh any disadvantage.