Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Leaving their hometowns for tertiary education is very common among teens and young adults because they are pursuing their dreams. Although, this separates them from childhood friends and family, and add additional living expenses that they can barely afford.

Living alone in a city that is faraway from home is hard for anybody, specially when youngster is doing this for the first time and is on a low budget. Most of college students could only afford shared rooms which are in close proximity to the university. When living alone, these pupils have to cook their own foods and do other chores without having any kind of support from the family. Living alone is hard at the first time, but I think once they will get used to it.

Chasing life goals are very popular among millennials. Most of them choose reputable universities that have facilities that they could benefit from. Studying in a higher ranking university could increase employment opportunities because of the connections they could make during their studies. For an example, more than half fresh of graduates secure their first job through networking. I think attending to a reputable university could provide career advantage to learners and this is overall better than sticking to a college in the same town that they have grown up.

In conclusion, more and more pupils are choosing their dream universities and have less comfortable life style during their studies to secure better jobs, even though they have to leave their homes. I think this better for students in the long run because of the career benefits.