Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The topic of taking one year gap before going to college has sparked a lot of controversy regarding wether it’s advantages or disadvantages. This essay will discuss both positive and negative impact of such practice.

The tendency of taking such practice has a lot of beneficial affects. One of the most evident benefits is appearance of a time to brain to relax, and create a hunger to study after a long term period of school education. Furthermore, brain of a people at the teenage years gets hardly tired of a repetitive information consumption alongside with the body and mental development. As a result, at the end of a primary education students are tend to lose intension to study due to the exhaustion, and a one year relaxation helps to rebuild motivation. For instance recent Wolverhampton university research indicated that more than 80% of a students which took a gap between primary and secondary education were more likely to ask questions on a lectures and had more interest on material.

Despite notable advantages, there are also significant disadvantages that must be acknowledged. The primary disadvantge of a calendar year break is it’s possibility to influence students way of assimilating information as their brain were adamant for a long period of time. It’s evident that cognitive system forgets information that body doesn’t require, as a result brain forgets how to act at the particular situation and deletes the pattern of data consumption. The same Wolverhampton university research later showed that majority of students interest to study was produced by cognitive systems need to regain the ability to develop, and the more than 76% of persons who showed better statistics didn’t have a break.

To sum up, although a long term relaxation present several advantages such as more attention to education, disadvantages cannot be ignored as a adamant data assimilation at the begining of the university.