Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Plenty of students opt for taking a gap year before going to university in order to extend their horizons by travelling and even obtaining work experience. There are some positive consequences of it, which will be described further.

To begin with, some people do not know who they want to be in the future. That is why it is crucial to get some time to set their goals and priorities. For instance, during the year off they can work in various spheres, that will help them understand their own preferences.

Secondly, some personalities cannot decide in what country they want to study. Due to this fact, getting the gap year would be beneficial, because of the ability to travel around the world and to decide the best country for studying.

What is more, free time can help to prepare for the future exams or even pass the test, which is essential for admission in the university or college. Entering to the university abroad is usually extremely time-consuming. For example, somebody made a decision to have education in Italy. In order to have no scholarships, they need to study Italian and pass the language exam. To accomplish all this task they need enough time.

In conclusion, having a gap year is always a useful idea, because during this time students can get ready for their future educational process, exams, and even getting some work experience in different areas.