Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

It is said that taking a gap year is a common choice for many students instead of enrolling in university, to travel or acquire work experience. From my perspective, I think it is a great opportunity for teenagers to develop themself.

On the one hand, spending a year on traveling helps students get rid of tension as well as be exposed to a variety of knowledge. For instance, traveling to natural landscapes such as Ha Long Bay is so exciting that students can unwind and immerse themself into the natural world. Therefore, they are likely to have good spirits to prepare for schooling. Besides, many spots also bring a lot of traditional values, so that people could have a huge amount of knowledge before entering the university’s gate.

At the same time, I believe that taking part in internship’s program in the first year after passing the university’s exam is almost beneficial for all students. Although this doesn’t bring a large income, students can still gain experience during their working time. For example, working for a snack bar can improve their communication skills through interacting with customers, or being a cashier also develops their money management abilities. All these skills are vital for freshmans so as not to confront difficulties at the university.

In conclusion, it is obvious that instead of choosing to study at the university, students can take a year to enrich their personal and academic lives.