Many students dropout of college early.What are the reasons and solutions?

Over the years, many students have questioned the value of university education. As a result, an increasing number of pupils leave college without finishing their degree. This essay highlights the two main drivers of this trend, and two practical solutions to address it.

Degree exclusivity and people’s financial situation are perhaps the main contributors to this issue. Nowadays, some pupils see that the knowledge provided by their universities offer mostly nothing special, given that the same knowledge can be acquired from free internet sources. A student pursuing a philosophy degree, for example, can find the same study materials offered by their college in free online sources, possibly even with more structured and tailored learning plan designed by leveraging AI tools. In addition, for some students, dropping out could be due to their low-income situation. As tuition fees culminate, some of these unprivileged pupils who struggle financially are forced to leave college.

One suggested solution that universities can do is to integrate unique practical courses that enable students to gain valuable hands-on experience in the subject matter whilst they study. By doing so, universities can ensure that they provide students with a thorough learning experience that does not only revolve around theory, which is now available everywhere. Another viable solution is for governments to provide equal opportunities for people despite their financial situation. Providing special financial aid to those in need can solve this issue, which in turn makes more people complete their studies.

In conclusion, the decreasing value of university degrees and financial hardships faced by some students are the two major causes of this trend. However, this can be addressed by adding more value to these degrees through practical courses, and also minimizing the financial strain associated with university education.