Many students find it diffcult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem? You should write at least 250 words

In contemporary society, the growing emphasis on the challenges of maintaining students’ focus and attention in the classroom has become a subject of widespread debate and discussion. This essay attempts to outline the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon and propose some viable solutions to alleviate it.

Two primary factors are to blame for the way young people struggle to concentrate in classes. Chief of among these is the distractions from social networking applications. In the digital age, students have constant access to smartphones, tablets, and laptops, allowing them to engage with social media, diverting their attention away from the lesson. Facebook and Instagram, for instance, purposefully push real-time updates on friends and viral videos that young users find difficult to ignore during lessons. Another reason is that students often have to deal with many subjects at school, irrefutably making it challenging for them to become genuinely excited about all of them. For instance, in Vietnam, students not only have to tackle 6 to 9 mandatory subjects but also are obliged to undertake optional courses during a semester, along with after-school classes. As a result, this excessive workload can lead to poor sleeping habits or an unhealthy lifestyle, ultimately decrease the level of concentration.

As I believe that digital devices and education­­­­al curriculum are the root cause of this challenge, the change should start with them.Collaborative efforts are needed between schools, parents, and students to regulate the use of electronic devices during class time. Implementing a no-phone policy in schools, and educating students on the detrimental effects of phone usage, can effectively block the stream of potential distractions from online networking sites, naturally curb this issue Another measure is for schools to allow students to select courses based on their interests. For example, if a student wants to pursue a career in the field of arts, they should have the flexibility to choose only subjects related to arts, rather than being compelled to study subjects they are not interested in.

In conclusion, the causes of the growing number of individuals losing focus in class are phone usage and a heavy educational program, and the solutions lie in the limitation of digital devices in classrooms and allowing students more choice in their course selection.