Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the contemporary milieu, how the young get knowledge from schools has always been a topic of interest. Some people, ergo, argue that students are easily distracted when attending school lessons. This essay sheds light on the precursors of this trend before outlining some avenues to address it.

The first reason for the distraction of students in school is related to teaching methods. To commence with, during long study hours, the bulk of teachers only supply their students with dull and tedious lectures which involve a wide range of abstract concepts and lack of practical experiments or visuals, thereby worsening children’s enthusiasm and affection with lessons. As paper-lessons and thick textbooks are available nowadays, it is understandable why students cannot concentrate solely on their studies. In addition, cutting-edge devices also interrupt children’s attention during lectures. In other words, smart devices such as smartphones or tablets which enable children to participate in online games or chatting rooms, successfully capture their imagination in daily life, even in their meals or parties let alone a lesson.

Therefore, I suggest two measures can be applied to deal with this phenomenon. To begin with, schools and teachers need to change their lessons by implementing active activities during whole lectures. Creating opportunities for students to work in groups or have debates with their classmates not only fosters their concentration but also competitiveness, because children have high demands for victory and try their best to defeat rivals. Moreover, each classroom needs to be facilitated by a rule of using digital devices. Students only are allowed to use their smartphones for educational purposes including searching useful information for lessons.

In conclusion, teaching measures and technology contribute to the distraction of students’ learning. Ergo, teachers need to change the children’s way of accessing knowledge and publish the rule of using smart devices in classrooms.