Many teachers follow the practice of giving students tasks for home often based on lessons taught in class. It is often believed that such practice should be stopped as it reduces time spent on leisure activities or nonacademic pursuits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The practice of assigning homework for students according to what they are taught in class is increasingly popular in educational programs. However, some people stay opposed to such practice, arguing that leisure time and non-academic pursuits of students are tightly restricted by home assignments. Personally, I believe that homework is an effective reinforcement which should be maintained, but only of a reasonable amount.

On the one hand, I do agree with the given opinion on the importance of leisure time to students. With a tight learning schedule involving various subjects, students need a quality break after school to recharge their battery and unwind, which ensure their physical and mental well-being. Therefore, if they are required to complete too many home assignments, they will be overwhelmed with the school duty, which affects not only their learning efficiency but also their health. In Vietnam, there have been several reports related to students’ high level of stress due to such heavy homework, indicating an essential need for increased leisure time for students after school.

However, the significance of homework and its benefits to the learning effectiveness cannot be overlooked. With a wide range of knowledge required in the learning module, it is challenging for students to understand, remember and put in practice in such limited school time. Therefore, reinforcement after class plays a vital role, guaranteeing students having sufficient practice for sustainable comprehension. This is the reason why a large number of teachers still consider home tasks an inevitable part of the curriculum. Personally, I hold the view that with moderate amount of homework, students can benefit from quality practice and still have enough time for leisure pursuits.

To conclude, leisure time and homework are not conflicting priorities if students are given a limited amount of homework, which not only helps reinforce in-class learning but also allows students enough time for other needs.