Many teenagers have their own smartphones. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

A large number of adolescents have their smart devices. Although young individuals are capable of accessing a wide range of information via these smart tools, I believe that its drawbacks are more than benefits because youths neglect their important responsibilities when they engage in a smartphone.

Teens can obtain a vast amount of specific data easily thanks to their mobile phones. This is because today’s smartphones have a connection to the internet, and therefore, they enable young people to get every kind of deep information on the web within seconds. For example, Wikipedia, which is the most well-known online encyclopedia on the web, is utilized by juveniles in every corner of the world. However, I would argue that smartphones are seen as a gateway for knowledge by a few proportions of juveniles.

On the other hand, smart devices result in disregard in various realms of young people’s lives and significantly affect their educational success. In other words, many young people cannot use their mobile phones in moderation because they are drawn to the appealing content on their smartphones. As a result, they put their urgent responsibilities on the back burner, and be less successful at school. For instance, due to excessive social media usage on smartphones, juveniles ignore their assignments and projects at home and then get lower scores from their studies. I, therefore, believe that having a smartphone brings along more disadvantages than advantages.

In conclusion, even though youths can access a vast amount of information through their smartphones, I hold the idea that its drawbacks outweigh the merits because smartphones give rise to severe negligences in many areas during their lives.