Many think social media has helped to connect people, while others think social media has separated us more than ever before. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether social media creates connection or the cause for separation in communities. Even though the latter point is valid, I am more convinced by the first argument for some reasons.

On the one hand, there are two reasons why social platforms are said to distancr people. When it comes to technology, advancements in digital infrastructure have simplified engagement with social networks, which negatively affect the face-to-face interactions. For example, children after returning from school usually have intention to take their phone and suffer for hours instead of hanging out with friends or spending time with family like before. Moreover, social media easily lead to addition. To illusttate, people will spend hours scrolling on the phone, checking notifications, seeking for likes on their posts and comments. The more likes their posts receive, the more they become addictes with social media. Consequently, the gap between them and people around widens more and more.

On the other hand, using media platform allowing people to connect and maintain relationships with others regardless of geographic locations. For instance, a person working far away from their home can keep in touch with their family members by calling a video or texting messages on social media. As a result, they can overcome home-sickness and reduce the stress rate. Furthermore, social media gives people opportunities to meet people having the same interests. Specifically, on Facebook, there are numerous groups with people having the same obsession. They gather on forums and freely share their thoughts about the thing they love. According to experts, people tend to be very excited to talk about what they like. So, being able to do that helps them feel fulfilled and improves their mental well-being.

In conclusion, although some disadvantages social media brings, I strongly believe that benifits outweight its drawbacks. Not only does social platforms offer people entertainment, but they also provide a powerful tool to connect people, no matter how far apart they are.