Many today feel that attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays it is thought that spans of attention are getting shorter as the reason of social media’s domination. To some extent I agree that using of social media can be a reason of this, but only in one case.

The only reason why I do not agree with this belief is, that there are other factors which also have impact on decreasing of attention span. Today so many people study, work and try to improve their other abilities at the same time. While they take pains to have time to do all of their duties, their concentration and attention are as well divided into several parts and they cannot give all of them in one thing which leads to shortage of attention span. For example, when a student takes an effort to fully think about exams at university, he cannot because at the same moment he thinks how to spend his salary trying to pay for all of the demands and in conclusion that leads to forgetting summit homework in courses and finally to decreasing attention spans.

Wrong using of social media is the main reason why I agree with this view. Not everyone knows how to use social media in useful way. As simple example, I can say about short videos on Instagram or Facebook. Scientists proved that watching these videos with duration of 15 seconds forms impatience and people can not read or watch other informational resources which takes more time and leads to reduction of attention and also concentration at lesson, work or just daily life.

In conclusion, reasons of getting spans of attention shorter are multiple. Impact of social media is dominant if use it wrongly. Everyone should understand its role in our life and do not allow them to have tendency of reduction our attention.