Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two views when it comes to whether it is a good idea for university students to learn about other subjects alongside their main ones. The first group stands by the belief that this is a feasible idea while the second group opposes it. I personally agree with the first group and in this essay, I will provide reason for my view.

On the one hand, Students should not feel confined to certain subjects after choosing their major. Great minds tend to be interested in a variety of different subjects. Therefore, limiting bright pupils to certain subjects related to their chosen degree is equivalent to restricting their potential to reach all their goals and achievements. For instance, a medical student should be allowed to take business and management classes or even have a minor degree in finance and economics if that’s where their interest besides medicine lies. They can use the skills obtained from this classes when they open their own clinic in the future.

On the other hand, certain degrees require an intense level of commitment and attention. Consequently, students who choose to divide their time between their main course and less relevant classes usually end up not succeeding in their degree. So the second group who disagree with students taking classes besides main subjects have good reason to be skeptical. By way of example, a physics major who has a lot of time-consuming classes should not be spending time on classical art classes if they know their grades for their main course are going to be affected.

In conclusion, while there are two groups when it comes to agreeing or disagreeing with university students taking classes irrelevant to their major, with the first group agreeing to this notion and the second group opposing it, I stand firmly with the first group due to reasons explained in this essay.