Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

Working individuals are more susceptible to health issues because they do not work out enough. The main cause of this is lack of leisure time during their workdays. In the weekends and holidays, people like to relax and have fun rather than exercise. Anyway, there are some ways to solve this problem.

Jobs that require an individual’s attention throughout the day leave less time to themselves. Thus, they spend their leisure time reading a book or catching up with friends rather than engaging in a physical activity. For instance, a recent survey conducted on software employees has shown that they like to visit a new place or watch TV during their free time. There was only about 18% of respondents who answered that they would like to exercise when they get time.

To curb this problem effectively, the employers should lay down stern work hour policies. In addition, working people need to be made aware of the physical complications which might occur due to lack of activity. They should be encouraged to attend knowledge sessions to understand the benefits of exercising. For example, Google has recently launched a Yoga program to educate and teach Yoga to their employees. While such programs enable personnel to gain knowledge about the health benefits of regular workout, having offices with exercise facilities would engage them further to work on their physical well-being.

To conclude, although modern working style keeps people from getting regular exercise, it can be resolved by motivating them to participate in physical development activities. I think, if offices provide facilities, there will be notable change in their employees’ health.