Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialise with others. This has can lead to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

In recent years, the phenomenon of unlimited access to internet has been a widespread issue among youngsters. This essay will highlight the main causes of it before proposing plausible solutions.

First and foremost, without adult guidance, minors can inadvertently stumble upon inappropriate and dangerous content. This can be chiefly caused by the lack of digital literacy in parents; some of them may be unaware of all the hazards their children are exposed to online. A prime example of this could be seen in the countries of CIS in 2016 when an app “Blue Whale” was common among teenagers, which contained hazardous tasks, including the commitment of suicide. To mitigate the problem, it is imperative that government introduce stricter regulations to protect children from such harmful content. As a result, it could help younger ones to use their devices for studying only and parents could stay assured against any unpleasant consequences.

Another pivotal problem is increasing screen addiction amongst children. This can be attributed to the fact that online games and social media nowadays are used as a form of entertainment. Consequently, it can cause a plethora of possible issues, resulting in reduced attention span and deterioration of eyesight. An effective method to address this is encouraging youngsters to be engaged in such offline activities as sports or arts. In this way, not only can parents limit children’s screen time without strict restrictions, but they could also foster their parent-child relationship.

To sum up, unsupervised internet access can lead to several detrimental outcomes, such as exposure to dangerous content or internet addiction. However, through implementation of safety, regulations and encouragement of offline activities we can build healthy environment for the young generation based on trust and support.