Many young people do not enjoy competitive sports because they're afraid of losing. Therefore, sports competitions should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that sports competitions should be prohibited because many children avoid participating due to a fear of failure. While this concern highlights the emotional pressure associated with competitive environment, I strongly disagree with banning sports contests, as they play a crucial role in developing resilience, teamwork and personal growth among young individuals.

There are valid reasons to claim that competitive sports place excessive pressure on many young people and may negatively affect their mental health. As many young children fail to cope with defeat, sports involving winning and losing can result in intense pressure and low self-esteem, and in extreme cases, constant competition may lead to stress, anxiety, or feelings of inadequacy. For example, a Chinese chess grandmaster, Hi-hello-bek, was unable to defeat his opponent in World Chess Tournament 2022 and finished in second place; as a result, he became deeply discouraged and eventually abandoned the game altogether.

Nevertheless, banning sports competitions would deprive children of valuable life lessons. Competition teaches resilience, patience, and how to cope with both success and failure – skills that are essential in real life. Losing can help children to develop emotional strength and motivate them to improve their performance. Moreover, competitive sports encourage team-work, goal-setting, and healthy ambition. Instead of eliminating competitions, schools should provide step-by-step guidance and emphasize participation and sportsmanship. Therefore, competitions should not be banned, but properly managed and guided.

In conclusion, while it is often argued that sports competitions should be banned due to the fear of failure, I strongly disagree with this view and believe that such activities encourage teamwork, foster a spirit of sportsmanship, and promote personal growth.