Many young people do not enjoy competitive sports because they're afraid of losing. Therefore, sports competitions should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern society, the topic of sports has always sparked much debate in the public’s eyes. Many people decide not to participate in sports competitions due to the fear of failure, leading to the idea of restricting competitive events. From my standpoint, I partly agree with the given opinion with some explanations.

On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why people want to restrict sports events. First, an excessive competitive attitude toward the competitions may lead to toxic sportsmanship. To be more specific, the overreaction and overvaluation of winning or failure are obviously contributing factors to the conflicts and arguments among the players. As a result, it lessens the initial meaning of sports, as well as the quality of relationships. Additionally, the result of competitions may have a detrimental impact on humans’ well-being, both physically and mentally. For instance, players may suffer from heavy injuries while participating in sports activities. Moreover, the afraid of losing in tournaments leads to a lack of confidence and self-efficacy, which badly affects the emotions of people.

On the other hand, the banning of sports events is obviously unrealistic and unreasonable in the contemporary era. Taking part in sports activities equips humans with numerous social skills, which can not be found in any theoretical sources. Through competitions, players can understand how to control emotions, work in a team, and collaborate with their partners. Notably, participating in competitive tournaments may motivate athletes to step out of their comfort zone and pursue their dreams, leading to higher achievements in sports careers. Furthermore, learning from the mistakes of failure, which are inevitable in human life, can broaden their knowledge and perspectives.

All things considered, putting restrictions on sports competitions may bring some advantages; however, apparently not the most effective solutions. Competitive events provide people with numerous benefits, including personal skill development, lessons from mistakes, and motivation.