Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

Nowadays, the majority of young people are not doing outdoor activities such as hiking or climbing in natural environments during their holidays and weekends. This can be the result of sedentary lifestyle and safety concerns. To encourage them to go out there should be the involvement of companies and government.

One particular reason of this trend is the sedentary lifestyle of young people. Many people have become an office drone sitting in a cubicle all day. They basically spend their holidays and weekends at home, watching TV or playing video games. They are morally tired to do physical activities, so they do not go outside. For example, young people are now prioritizing to stay at home instead of going for a walk. Another cause has to do with safety concerns. Parents do not allow their children go hiking or cycling, as they are worried about the risks it does involve. For instance, parents worry about the accidents or crime their children. As a result, they do not let their children to do those activities.

To solve this problem, particularly the problem with sedentary lifestyle, companies can organize competitions for their employees. If offices offer worthy prizes for winners of the competition, individuals will agree without hesitation. It can help people to be more physically active and spend less time locked in their room. For example, they can organize competition day every week or twice a month and doing some sports such as football or cycling. Another solution can be undertaken by government. They should make car free days and safe children’s zones, so outdoor activities could be less dangerous. They can also create more green zones with lots of trees, cycling roads and playground. Having these facilities, people can spend time with family, friends or alone doing physical activities.

In conclusion, while individuals spend their holidays and weekends because of their sedentary lifestyle and concerns of their parents, it can be addressed by setting up competitions with rewards and creating safe environment for residents.