Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this a trend? What can be done to increase young people's interest in famous in the history of their country?

Nowadays, more and more young people do not know much about famous people in the history of their country, instead having much info about pop and movie stars. It is a terrible situation with youngsters that should be given attention.

The reasons for this could be a lot. First of all, many teenagers are interested in listening to music or watching films, which is not true for history. Today, it is pretty obvious that history is taught only at educational centres, if not individually. To illustrate more causes, I would use 4 laws to create a habit: make it easy, make it obvious, make it attractive, and make it satisfying. This could be relevant for this situation, as popular pop and movie stars are seen everywhere, which makes teenagers easier to remember them. Or, young people can discuss about these role models in a group: at school, on the sleepovers and so on. Moreover, knowing more on this field could earn them reputation among their peers, which makes it satisfying.

However, there are solutions as well, which governments could implement. For instance, history at school could be turned into a specialized subject, with more hours per week and better education quality. This would cause competition over this subject: who knows more historic people or who earns most point at the end of the term. Being in the forefront of these competitions could earn them respect, which gives a student satisfaction. Or, there could be created some activities with rewards for a specific age group. The motivation of competitors would be increased, therefore causing them to learn more about national history.

In conclusion, while this situation is bad for the country, it is not an impossible problem to tackle. There could be a couple of efficient solution, which governments might implement.