Many young people today spend too much time on social media. What problems does this cause, and what solutions can you suggest?

These days it has become increasingly common for some young individuals spend much more time utilizing phones and social media platforms. This global issue can lead to many seriously problems which are related with overall wellbeing and lower academic performances. However, this problem can be addressed by limiting the screen time by students’ parents and introducing stricter rules at schools or universities.

One of the problems for being addictive to digital items and platforms is that today many young people face both emotional and mental health difficulties. Because social media platforms such as Instagram, YouTube and Telegram use algorithms to make the contents, videos, or the overall appearance of apps more appealing and addictive, their users are obsessed to them easily. Then, it is easy to say they spend long hours scrolling through them, which can cause severe some health issues like aggressive, psycho, lack of sleep and vision problems, too. Another issue relates to poor academic performance in educational institutions. With parental indifference because of their heavy work loads and competition job markets, their children continue to surf into social media which can contribute to overlook the important home assignments and tasks. As a result, students’ level of performance will actually decrease may cause negative their future career.

Nevertheless, there are several effective solutions to address this problem. Firstly, it is important for parents to focus on paying attention to their offspring and limiting their children’s screen time. This can be accomplished by installing some appropriate apps which can help to turn on limiting screen time and they should priorities family time over unnecessary commitments. Without paying and taking care of their children, young people may continue to scroll and utilize the digital gadgets like computers, laptops coupled with phones. Secondly, introducing stricter rules in the learning institutions can make a significant difference when it comes to reducing the screen time on children. This could involve announcing the strict law system which is giving their digital tools to their teachers from the lesson starts until it ends. Unless students could surf to social media applications, thus neglecting the lessons.

In conclusion, although this issue contributes to severe problems for young generations, there are some effective ways to tackle excessive smartphone use among young people.