Many young people today spend too much time on social media. What problems does this cause, and what solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, young people spend too much time on social media. Excessive use of social media is affecting both their physical and mental health. The reasons lie in the students as well as their parents. This essay will discuss the problems of overusing social media as well as the measures to address those issues.

The major problem created because of excessive social media usage is poor performance in academic exams. Most students waste their time by using Facebook and Instagram. Because of this, they are losing their attention to studies, which results in getting poor grades in the exam. On the other hand, overuse of social media detaches them from social connections, leading to isolation, which causes serious mental problems including depression and anxiety.

The most workable solution could be ensuring proper monitoring by parents so that students can adhere to their academic activities. They should set a routine for their child and make them workable beside making them aware of the negative impact of wasting time on social media and it’s impact on education. Additionally, parents should drive their young children to mix with friends and to attend social and cultural festivals, which could ensure mental relaxation by lowering depression and loneliness.

In conclusion, wasting time on social media has negative consequences on young people, predominantly in their academic performance and on mental health. To minimize these harms, parents should come forward to guide young children on how they should maintain their daily activities, as well as to ensure their children’s participation in social gatherings to be mentally fit.