Many young people today spend too much time on social media. What problems does this cause, and what solutions can you suggest?

There is no doubt that social media has become so much familiar in todays world, its contribute to all our daily activity, it is not unusual to see teenager wandering, eating with their phone but despite the fact that social media make communication and stay connected with each others easier, using social media too much can lead to serious physical health and mental-wellbeing, in this essays i will take a first look at those problem and provide some pratical solutions to address that.

The most noticeable problem we can clearly see among teenagers who tend to consume excessive social media content per day is the sedentary lifestyle. This problem occur among teenagers mostly by now their need to sit on desk for hours to learning and when its time to break instead of going outdoor for exercise or play sport, their chose to stay indoor and glued to their phone for hours. This lack of physical activity can lead to serious health issues in the future like obese, eyes strain and poor posture, additionally too much use of social media in daytime can lead to distorted sleep patterns, due to green light and fear of missing out (FOMO) . When teenagers seen perfectly edited photos and fascinating life about each others this result in the mood of inadequate and jealous, and the worst part is this condition can link up to anxiety and depression.

To prevent these problem, educations and parents support are required. Parents can use digital detox but in more indirectly ways like using parental control system on phone to limit children screentime and have some rule which call “no phone rule” at the table and before sleep so that their children can interact in real life more and relax their eyes out of green light before they sleep. Next solution that is very crucial on a large scale is through education, the reasons for that is school is a system that cover every aspect of a country, so if we have right “digital education” every kids on the country can benefit from that. For instance, school can told our kids that all those perfect photos you see on the internet actually not real and the exciting, stunning life you saw from others people are actually is just around 10% of people on a whole.

In conclusion, a lot of problem like sedentary lifestyle, distorted sleep patterns because of excessive use of mobile phone can actually be mitigate by education and parents support.