Marriages are becoming bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is the case? Is it positive or negative development?

In this century, couples are planning their weddings to be more luxurious and grandiose in order to impress everyone and parrot what they see on social media. From my personal point of view, the tendency seems to be more mentally pleasing than economically due to numerous factors.

To begin with, the amount of money spent on the fete is prohibitively immense, desiring to mesmerize every guest. For instance, organizing a wedding party with thousands of beautiful decorations and facilities, such as foods, ornamented places cost a lot. Thus, to recover all the expenses, people have to save enormous amounts of money. The extra money spent on weddings should be used for the future plans for the family, such as buying necessary possessions or investing for their child’s education. It is a noticeable fact that images of lavish weddings on television or in magazines cause an increase in materialism.

But on one hand, people have more expendable income than those from previous generations so they could organize their special event bigger and smarter. In today’s globalized world, the media has influenced people’s perception of how a wedding should be conducted. In Particular, celebrities must conduct weddings that are more gorgeous and worth coming to fans and acquaintances. Moreover, in a well-known country, India , which is one of the countries in the Asian continent,has a tradition to celebrate wedding parties extensively with relatives. Indians or Iranians believe that these ceremonies help poor people to have fun, because they also invite all people nearby. Therefore, people who organize weddings are trying to create an ideal party for everyone, outlying the huge amount of money. After the marriage, however, they have to survive because of the immense spending.

In conclusion, marriage expenditure is becoming expensive and continuing to increase, while I argue that it must be an event for the family circle and must cost less money.