Marriages are becoming bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is the case? Is it positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is more common to observe that young couples are planning their wedding parties to be luxurious and grandiose in order to impress everyone and parrot everything they saw from social media. From my perspective, the tendency tends to be more mentally successful rather than economically due to numerous factors.

To begin with, the amount of money that some individuals spend on the fete is prohibitively immense, desiring to mesmerize every guest. For instance, organizing a wedding with all possible decorations and facilities, such as foods, tables, and ornamented party places, would cost a lot. Thus, to cover all the expenses of the marriage, they save up an enormous amount of money and after the wedding, they would literally have to survive. The money which is spent on the ceremony might be saved for the future of the young family, such as buying necessary possessions or investing for their intending child.

Another major reason to mention, organizing wedding ceremonies in some countries has already become a national custom for the local inhabitants. For example, in countries like India and other Oriental countries, money is traditionally spent in a big sum for the marriage parties. Compared to European countries, the same fete can be cost more cheaply with a minimum budget and invited guests. Additionally, these tendencies, as it has been mentioned above, are mainly caused by traditions and customs. Asian people like Indians or Iranians believe that these ceremonies help poor people to have fun, because they invite all people nearby. Therefore, people who organize weddings are trying to create an ideal party for everyone, outlaying the huge amount of money. After the marriage, however, they have to survive because of the immense spendings.

In conclusion, marriage expenditure is becoming expensive and continuing to increase, while I argue that it must be an event for the family circle and must cost less money.