Media violence encourages violence in society. To what extent do you agree?

Media plays a crucial role in shaping the people thoughts and behaviours. While it serves as source of information and entertainment, it also gives exposure to violence which can have a significant effect on society. However according to me, some people say that media violence is the main cause for exposure to violence especially in young children but others state that it is minimal.

On one hand, source of exposure that leads to violence can be categorized in many parts such as newspapers, movies, news channels, games and so on. When people interact or experience to these sources especially young kids, they get registered in their mind visually and they try to imitate in real life, which could tune their character in an abnormal way in the near future. For instance, there is study that says there is a link between repeated exposure to violence and aggressive behaviour as per the records of a psychiatrist.

On the other hand, nowadays people say that media is not the direct cause for the behavioural change in people, and especially childrens can differentiate the actual violence and the theatrical violence which is showed in movies, games and so on. In this modern world, most of the people act matured and understands that it serves a form of storytelling therefore, it does not affect their behaviour in anyway.

In conclusion, the media does not have a direct impact on the people and it depends upon the people how they assess it. In case of addiction to the exposure of violence in young children, it can be overcomed by parental guidance so that negative impact can be reduced in society.