Memorization of information by frequent repetition, namely rote learning, plays a role in many education systems. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Among diverse methods of teaching and learning,cramming is not unusual. Numerous academic institutes make their students score and gain information only by memorising. I,however, criticise this method as its demerits outnumber the merits.

Learning for only scores but not being able to use it in practical is the real drawback of rote- learning. To be more precise about it, revising the same terms frequently only allows person to grab the information for short period of time which is impractical too because person does not really know how to use it in real life. For example, the theories , pupils memorize in physics are realistic but students cannot apply them and cannot find consequences of it. Therefore, rote- learning is not long term applicable strategy of gaining knowledge.

Apart from this, cramming requires sharp ability and stability of mind to keep the learned task in memory although for short time, but not every learner has that potential. In such cases, this method of learning becomes the cause of burden of study on children. They try to memorise repeatedly but forget that again. As a consequence of which , they in the whole life regret for not acquiring the knowledge and rote-learning skill.

On the other hand, the mere advantages of this method are being able to score the required marks to top the class and being able to learn the task which only need memorisation but not practicality. The vocabulary in languages (English,Hindi) is the clear example that they are needed to be memorised as there is no other practical way to use them.

Concluding this essay by stating that no doubt rote learning is the ubiquitous method , but has no sense in real as I have mentioned in the former paragraphs.