Memorization of information by frequent repetition, namely rote learning, plays a role in many education systems. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People have diverse views about learning methods. It is believed by some that rote learning has become very common in many education systems. While there are few benefits to this phenomenon, the drawbacks are far more.

There are several reasons why I think that memorizing information through frequent repetition is detrimental for us. The first and foremost reason is that it takes lots of time. When a person acquires any topic by rote learning, they have to spend large amount of time on this. And not only this, people cannot remember the topic long time. As a consequence, they have to read it again and again. Another demerit is that individuals cannot properly apply the knowledge in a difficult situation because they do not understand the real meaning of the lesson. The last point is that nowadays, majority of the companies are looking for employees who have both general and practical knowledge. So, obtaining resources by rote learning can reduce the chance of getting a better paying job.

In addition, there are few demerits to this trend as well. To begin with, by using rote learning technique, students can pass in the exam. In our society, many pupils are not able to understand complicated subjects, like science, math and physics. This is why, many of them utilize this method so that they can graduate without much effort. Furthermore, rote learning increases brains’ recall system. As a result, people can use this technique when they face any unusual activity. For instance, a recent article published by BBC News revealed that about 70% of crime cases’ victims use their recall system so that they can help the police to arrest offenders.

To conclude, I personally believe that although there are some positive aspects of rote learning, these are insignificant compared to the negative sides. Additionally, these challenges are difficult to eliminate.