Modern communications mean that it's no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Communication methods have experienced tremendous changes over the past few decades. It began by physically delivering the information with the help of messengers to farther destinations crossing every possible terrains, and now utilizing short message services to mingle online. It is safely assumed that we no longer require writing letter to express ourselves. Though, I support this notion of adopting modern style but cannot completely ignore the letter writing.

In this era of rapid transformation, sending, simple or sophisticated, thoughts in short time is emphasized upon while letters take longer duration to reach their intended destination. Another problem with writing is the legibility of the text, each person writes disparately and receiver perceives it differently, thereby causing confusion and misunderstanding. Further, with the help of improvements in technology, it has become quite effortless to transfer missing information within a second rather than waiting for it indefinitely. Also, the feature of tagging attachments and files provide an edge to its users.

Furthermore, there is also a disadvantage of expressing oneself with appropriate emotions while jotting down the ideas or feelings. Probably, one may sound rude or aloof whereas newer adoptions allow to include emojis in the line so that requisite emotions can be wired across. Additionally, with the aid of video call, users can interact with their friends, family, colleagues real time and show them places instantly. Lastly, using right innovations one cannot lost in translations, which was the problem with erstwhile mode of communicating.

On the flip side, handwritten letters are seen as a symbol of personalized touch where a sender takes efforts to put down his or her thoughts and post it. A writer can manage spaces, font styles and size, capitalisation and indentation as per his or her convenience.

To summarize, older methods may not be turning obsolete sooner but it has been taken over by the novel inventions of human, thereby decluttering the trend of seamless interaction with each other.