Modern lifestyles mean that many parents have little time for their children. Many children suffer because they do not get as much attention from their parents as children did in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that individuals nowadays have much more hectic lifestyles than those decades ago. As a consequence, many parents find themselves unable to spend quality time with their children. Some suggest that this is detrimental for young people and should not be encouraged, whereas others disagree. In this essay, from the perspectives of education and emotional support, I will explain why I agree with the former.

Indeed, it could be argued that some parents are unable to accompany their children since they have to spend the vast majority of their time working. They do so in a bid to support the family economically, and this will likely improve their children’s prospects in terms of education, as higher levels of education at elite institutions tend to be expensive. However, parents play a significant role when it comes to providing guidelines for their children’s academic journey. Without their parents’ supervision and support, students will suffer from the lack of both discipline and proper planning for their future. This could substantially weaken their academic performance, thereby preventing them from pursuing higher education despite their parents being capable of meeting the financial conditions.

Furthermore, the disadvantages of paying little attention to kids are much more compelling. One obvious drawback of this approach is the lack of emotional support for children, which is of paramount importance to their personal growth. One major aspect of parenting is the nurturing experience provided, which is crucial for developing key traits such as empathy, resilience, and love. For instance, if children seldomly experience care from their parents, then they will likely struggle to appreciate the significance of having sympathy for other people later in their lives. This lack of emotional intelligence and sensitivity will undoubtedly lead to negative implications on their social skills and moral values, thereby potentially affecting their overall well-being in the future.

In conclusion, for parents, not spending sufficient time with their children can severely impact young people’s development, especially in terms of education and emotional intelligence. Although some staunchly believe that this behaviour is acceptable and harmless, I strongly disagree with this approach.