Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, technological advancement offers people easy access to patented music and books on the internet that is streamable without any cost. While it is argued by some that this is a negative development, I would say it is certainly a positive development.

On one hand, there are in fact few reasons that exist to make people think it’s not a blessing. First of all, if music and books are downloaded from the internet through various third-party sites and apps, then the creative owners won’t get any revenue. That will not only stop their means of earning but also demotivate them to create anything further because of a large amount of piracy. Secondly, there are some phishing sites always looking for innocents to fall into their traps by clicking into given links when they try to pirate creative arts such as songs or documents. Piracy has become very common these days, so are the hackers looking for the right pawns.

On the other hand, there are various merits that make me think this is a positive development. Firstly, technological development gives everyone an equal opportunity to gain easy access to numerous valuable elements such as academic lectures, seminars, podcasts, and research papers, which are really not very available for everyone. This allows individuals to learn and grow about many aspects; they can also share the knowledge with others at the same time. Secondly, since everything is available, it’s really a tremendous help for those who cannot afford these valuable elements otherwise. There are, in fact, many individuals who are eager to learn but don’t have the luxury to afford even the minimum. A good illustration of this, in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, there are several music enthusiasts who found it hard in their learning period, since they couldn’t afford the institutions’ payments, but thanks to the internet, they could download some top-class teachers’ courses, which enabled them to become good artists.

In conclusion, it is true that downloading copyrighted songs and writings for free does affect some negatively, but I would argue that its advantages serve more people on a bigger scale.