Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

With the help of latest technology people are able to install copyrighted music and books available on the Internet easily without spending any money. Although it gives people the chance to use these materials without the need to pay, I believe this is disrespect to the the work done by the authors and affect them in some way.

A positive aspect of having access copyrighted music and books is that it allows people to be able to progress. In other words, the individuals of society get educated when reading more and more books, as a result, the overall level of culture is increasing among people. Furthermore, people can allocate their money to the other areas which enables them to manage their budget effectively while they do not lack new tases of music and books in their life via copyrighted materials.

Having said that, there are various drawbacks of enabling people use this type of method for the areas of art. Firstly, downloading them illegally affects the author in a financial way. This means, author is seeking any profit from his work and copyrighted resources prevent the main source of income for him. For instance, a writer who published a new book expects that any possible sells would bring him money as a compensation of hard work he put into it, while individuals try to download it illegally without spending any charge. In addition, some people can use these materials for plagiarism by changing their contents with small differences. It is another disadvantageous side of having copyrighted music and books on Internet for free.

In conclusion, I think that authors’ work should be appreciated and respected and shouldn’t be available for free, although it has some beneficial sides for society with regard to improvements in culture level and financial situations.