Money should be spent on creating new public buildings such as museums or town halls rather than renovating the existing ones/ To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the question of whether money should be spent on creating new buildings rather than renovating existing ones has become widespread. In my opinion, money should be spent on designing new ones because they are much better in the case of cost-efficiency and sustainability.

On the one hand, proponents of restoration argue that historical buildings are essential for saving cultural identity of the community. They believe that these buildings can link them with their past. Also, one of the pros of saving old buildings is tourism. Tourists from all around the world come to see structures that illustrate the unique history of a region.

On the other hand, as a specialist in the building industry I believe that new, great designed buildings are much better. Since environmental issues have become one of the greatest global problems, all buildings must be environmentally friendly and sustainable. Using modern technologies such as renewable energy significantly decreases carbon dioxide emission. The European Union has accepted standards that are totally suitable to fight against ozone holes in atmosphere and climate change. For example, one of them is Passive House standard. This is quite common standard in Germany and main purpose of it is making buildings able to stand even cold winters without any external heating. That result is achievable, because of superior insulation and triple-glazed windows. So, none of historical buildings can be more insulated or energy-efficient in comparison with modern ones, because architects and engineers before were not enough acknowledged.

In conclusion, while old buildings are better in the terms of cultural legacy and supporting tourism, I believe that the transition to energy-efficient modern buildings is crucial. By investing in modern construction, we can create a bright future by saving the planet for next generations.