Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While pressing social and economic issues on land emerge because of lack of funding, billionaires and governments keep investing in projects concerned with the extents of the universe, faraway galaxies and exoplanets. Many believe these investments to be not only obsolete but also offensive in the face of poverty, famine, access to medication and other injusticies. It is my understanding that although space exploration might seem useless now, it expands our understanding of science. In doing so, it can contribute to many solutions which scientists would not be able to come up with otherwise, which is why governments should not cease to fund space projects.

Firstly, scientists are often constrained by the task and the field they have to satisfy with their research. Assuming an oven expert in the 60s was assigned with the conception of a new technology that was to revolutionise the food heating process, they are likely to design a significantly more efficient oven than ever before. The microwave oven is a notorious example for a device that was engineered as part of space related research where scientists were allowed a hub of freedom for their exploratory spirit. In other words, the microwave could only come to life in the conditions that space agencies create.

Secondly, to a large extent space research constitutes of the exploration of the cosmos in the search of possible habitats for humans. After all, the climate crisis is inevitably going to cause inreversible effects to the life on Earth as we know it. Considering the recent climate reports of many environmental organisations extreme weather conditions, caused by climate change, threaten the lives of hundreds of millions of people already. In a few decades these numbers grow exponentially. In that sense vacating the planet might present a much more immediate concern than many suspect.

In conclusion, the opponents of space exploration often overlook the long-term benefits it carries. While governments might indeed be guilty of distributing wealth unfairly, the spirit of true science still nests in one place and that is space exploration.