Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ever since the first moon landing the world has been fascinated in terms of exploring the unknown. There was a time when mostly the developed nations participated in the space race, but now other newly emerged superpowers have been actively devoting a lot of resources to it. Now the question may arise, can they afford to spend their wealth behind space exploration? In this essay, I will show the reasons why space exploration is a logical approach and why it does not have any effect on hindering a nation’s progress.

First of all, we humans are slowly killing our planet. We already have a doomsday clock where it exactly shows the date we are away from global a catastrophe. Because of that many organizations are already in search of another planet where we can migrate to if such a situation occurs. For example, Elon Musk has dedicated a huge chunk of his resources behind his space exploration company Space X to find alternatives. Several space missions have been launched to Mars to test if it is suitable and sustainable. A plan B is necessary if we ever come across any global crisis in which space exploration provides countless benefits.

I believe that outer-world missions and a nation’s progress parameters are not interconnected. For example, India recently successfully landed their space shuttle on the dark side of the moon while being a developing country. Their mission did not hinder in any of their upcoming plans and soon they are on the path to becoming one of the economic powerhouse in the world.

Overall I believe that space exploration is vital for expanding our knowledge and a way forward towards technological advancement.