Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In an erratically evolved world, for every nation, it is a complex procedure to decide on the government authorized allocation of spending on different sectors. Space exploration is one of those sectors that instigates an argument on whether it’s a complete waste or a necessary area that requires enough attention for the sake of advancement. While some might argue siding with the former part of the debate, I do not agree that discovering the part of outer space that requires a substantial money is totally unnecessary.

Allocation of the governmental budget is propelled by a lot of thinking and contemplating all the scenarios worldwide. If they are attempting to do such expenses for space discoveries, then that means they have their own reasons to do so. And as the quote goes by “Government by the people, for the people”, this inclines that they are taking these steps in context of some logical evaluation which is good for humanity. Their notions of sending researchers and explorers into the outer orbit is mostly not out of their curiosity, rather for the advancement of their own nation and in summary, the whole planet.

The current population of mankind is around 7.8 billion. Considering the amount of natural resources left, climate conditions & severe changes, and contemporary eco-systems; this is alarming. While some researches show many major impacts are continuously hitting only because of these factors, more than a few other represents the topic of “Extinction of mankind” following these impacts. Based on all those challenging scenarios, the most probable solution found by various experimentations (both theoretical and practical) to address those issues are forming civilizations in the outer space which require sequential travels outside the planet. This factor alone is convincing enough to prove that the amount spent on such inevitable researches are not a complete waste.

The belief of the national administration of different countries is that there might be some planets in the cosmos that have the environment to inhabit humans, or environment that could be reformed to some extent outside our own atmosphere for the propulsion of human growth. The example of Mars project taken by one of the private company called “Tesla” is noteworthy in that case.

However, the earth we are living in needs more attention than the surveillance going on in the outer space which incurs about the government’s investment percentages. It’s true that instead of spending the money on searching the expanding void, the amount could be used for the betterment of the nation, however, the whole idea of exploring the space can not be ignored totally by the national administration given the circumstances. More importantly, they are aware of the whole situation and not coming up with asinine notion like spending a lavish amount in space exploration neglecting the needs of the nation.

The search for the solution to burning questions like increased population, climate change, demolition of the eco-systems, the ending of natural resources, change in bio-diversities, extinction of different animals including mankind, and many others could be found through several projects undertaken to survey the galaxy. Some might say these projects and governmental investments are not beneficial for the nation, whilst in an overall outcome they are for the greater good.